Openfederal funding•Federal coverage•Tier 1 intelligence

A grant from USDOJ-OJP-BJA

BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula

USDOJ-OJP-BJA offers this federal opportunity for work related to Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety.…

Official application

Award

$0–$4,964,030

Deadline

November 3, 2026

17 days

Apply at official source Check your eligibility

No signup · Source checked 10/16/2026

Decision snapshot

Potential award

$0–$4,964,030

Official deadline

November 3, 2026

17 days

Eligibility evidence

1 confirmed criterion

5 checks available

Application load

Moderate effort

01

Start here

Confirm eligibility

Check your fit in about 60 seconds.

Eligibility requirementsQuestion 1 of 5
About 60 seconds totalInferred criterion

Does your proposed work directly align with Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety, Youth Development, Equipment?

What does this mean?

Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety, Youth Development, Equipment

Review supporting source ↗
Does your proposed work directly align with Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety, Youth Development, Equipment?
Select an answer to continue

No signup · Answers stay in this browser session

This is an explainable self-assessment, not a win probability or legal determination. Hard eligibility conflicts are never averaged against softer program-fit signals. Always verify the official notice.

Optional Review source criteria and citations

Nonprofit status

Confirm nonprofit eligibility in the full notice.

Review source ↗
unclear

Geography

Nationwide availability is inferred from the catalog record; confirm the official notice.

Review source ↗
inferred

Organization size

No organization-size limit was captured.

Review source ↗
unclear

Program area

Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety, Youth Development, Equipment

Review source ↗
inferred

Population served

No specific population was captured.

Review source ↗
unclear

Matching funds

No cost share is indicated.

Review source ↗
confirmed

Registrations

SAM.gov and Grants.gov registration may be required; confirm in the notice.

Review source ↗
inferred

Exclusions

Review the full notice for exclusions and prohibited uses.

Review source ↗
unclear
02

Grant-writer assessment

Understand the opportunity

Start with the practical interpretation. Open the complete source narrative when you need the underlying detail.

Plain-English explanation

Plain-English explanation

USDOJ-OJP-BJA offers this federal opportunity for work related to Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety. Organizations serving National should verify the requirements below before committing proposal time.

Not yet confirmed

What the funder is trying to accomplish

A specific statement of funder intent has not yet been editorially reviewed. Use the official description and program priorities as the controlling source.

Plain-English explanation

Strong-fit project signals

Projects should demonstrate a direct, substantive connection to Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety. This is directional guidance, not an eligibility determination.

Not yet confirmed

What reviewers may prioritize

Review criteria have not yet been captured. Do not assume general best practices replace the scoring criteria in the official notice.

Source dossier Read the full official program description
Source-backed synopsis

What this grant funds

The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) is committed to advancing work that furthers the U.S. Department of Justice’s (DOJ) mission to keep our country safe and secure and uphold the rule of law and protect the rights of American citizens. OJP provides federal leadership, funding, and other critical resources to directly support law enforcement, combat violent crime, protect American children, provide services to American crime victims, and address public safety challenges, including human trafficking and the opioid crisis. This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula. This opportunity will provide formula funding to eligible units of local government to, in general, support hiring additional personnel and/or purchase equipment, supplies, contractual support, training, technical assistance, and information systems for criminal justice or civil proceedings, including for any one or more of the eleven program areas. Applicants should check the FY26 JAG allocations to determine if they are eligible to receive direct JAG funding from BJA prior to starting an application: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/jag/allocations.

Read the complete official description ↗
03

Decision economics

Size the opportunity

Use the source facts below to judge whether the likely return justifies the application effort.

Award range
$0–$4,964,030
Total program funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Geography
National
Cost share
Not indicated
Assistance listing
Not specified

Mission alignment

Compare your program with Law, Justice and Legal Services, Justice, Community Safety.

Geographic fit

National

04

Working plan

Build the application

The generated milestones are planning aids. Only the official notice establishes required dates.

Requirements captured

Other requirements
Other units of local government
Submission system
Grants.gov
Attachments
https://bja.ojp.gov/funding/opportunities/o-bja-2026-172705
Contact
Bureau of Justice Assistance · OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov · 202-514-9354

Official deadline

November 3, 2026

Moderate effort based on requirements currently captured.

  1. Finalize project design, outcomes, and supporting evidence.

  2. Confirm eligibility, registrations, partners, and internal approval.

  3. Draft the narrative and detailed budget.

  4. Complete compliance review and collect attachments.

  5. Submit early and preserve the confirmation receipt.

05Past behaviorCompare historical awardsHistorical patterns provide context, but do not predict or guarantee future funding decisions.
No licensed historical awards are currently linked to this opportunity.
06Audit trailVerify the evidenceSee where the facts came from, when they were checked, and what has materially changed.

Source record

What “source verified” means

The official record was successfully checked. Verification does not mean every eligibility or application field has been extracted. Read the methodology →

Verification
verified
Source
grants gov
Last checked
10/16/2026, 1:18:55 PM
Content updated
10/16/2026, 1:19:10 PM
Review
Automated normalization; not yet expert-reviewed
Open official source ↗

Material changes

  1. Updated deadline, eligibility, eligibility details, important dates, status.

  2. Updated status.

  3. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  4. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  5. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  6. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  7. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  8. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  9. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  10. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  11. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

  12. Updated eligibility, eligibility details.

Verify before applying. Official funder documents control. Derived analysis and preparation dates should not replace the notice.
Keep searchingSimilar and alternative grantsExplore verified opportunities related by program area, funder, or funding type.
Quick answersFrequently asked questionsGet concise answers about BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula.
Is BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula currently open?

Yes, based on the latest source record. The deadline is November 3, 2026, with 17 days remaining. Because funders can amend or extend notices, confirm the date and submission instructions on the official application page. The source was last checked 10/16/2026.

How much funding does BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula provide?

BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula lists $0–$4,964,030 per award. The expected number of awards has not been captured, so the award range alone should not be treated as an estimate of competitiveness.

Who can apply to BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula?

Special district governments; Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized); Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification); City or township governments; County governments Applicants should still complete the eligibility quiz and verify every condition in the official notice; a general fit does not override exclusions or registration requirements.

Does BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula require matching funds?

No cost-share requirement is indicated in the captured source facts. Applicants should still verify the official budget instructions in case an amendment, program track, or specific cost category carries additional conditions.

What should I prepare before applying to BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula?

Moderate effort is expected. The captured requirements include other requirements, submission system, attachments, contact. Start by confirming eligibility and registrations, then work backward from November 3, 2026 using the preparation plan above.